Ruth Fisher, Former House Transportation Committee Chairwoman; Instrumental in creation of Sound Transit
Ruth Fisher, Former House Transportation Committee Chairwoman

Last Wednesday, a long line of public officials and organizational leaders showed up to testify in front of the State House Transportation Committee in favor of House Bill 1180, which would grant Sound Transit the authority to take a new tax package, commonly referred to as “ST3”, to the voters for the next round of light rail construction and other new ST services.

Rep. Jake Fey (D – Tacoma), the prime sponsor of HB 1180, invoked the memory of Ruth Fisher, who as Chair of the House Transportation Committee, led the way for creation of Sound Transit. Fey represents the 27th District, which Fisher represented. The hearing can be viewed here.

The bill is scheduled for a vote in committee Monday afternoon at 3:30 p.m. Watch today’s meeting live.

Committee members include:

Member Party Representing HB 1180
Judy Clibborn D, Chair Mercer Island, Bellevue Co-Sponsor
Jessyn Farrell D, Vice Chair Seattle Co-Sponsor
Jake Fey D, Vice Chair Tacoma SPONSOR
Luis Moscoso D, Vice Chair Bothell, Mountlake Terrace, Kirkland, Woodinville Co-Sponsor
Ed Orcutt R, Ranking Clark, Cowlitz, Lewis, Thurston Counties
Mark Hargrove R, Asst Rnkg Covington, Kent, Auburn, Maple Valley
Steve Bergquist D Seattle, Tukwila, Renton Co-Sponsor
Mia Gregerson D Kent, SeaTac, Des Moines, Normandy Park Co-Sponsor
Mark Harmsworth R Lake Stevens, Snohomish, Mill Creek
Dave Hayes R Island, Skagit, Snohomish Counties
Linda Kochmar R Federal Way
Joan McBride D Redmond, Clyde Hill, Bellevue Co-Sponsor
Jim Moeller D Vancouver
Jeff Morris D San Juan, Skagit, Whatcom Counties Co-Sponsor
Lillian Ortiz-Self D Paine Field, Edmonds, Mukilteo Co-Sponsor
Liz Pike R Clark County
Marcus Riccelli D Spokane County
Jay Rodne R Issaquah, Maple Valley
Mike Sells D Everett, Marysville, Tulalip Co-Sponsor
Matt Shea R Spokane County
Dean Takko D Five southwestern counties
Gael Tarleton D Seattle Co-Sponsor
Lynda Wilson R Clark County
Jesse Young R Bremerton, Gig Harbor
Hans Zeiger R Fife, Puyallup, South Hill

Areas inside the Sound Transit taxing district are bolded.

Here is a list of phone numbers for committee members. Email addresses are usually

Martin previously wrote about this bill, and its companion, Senate Bill 5128, just over a week ago.

SB 5128 sits in the Senate Transportation Committee, awaiting a hearing, at the discretion of Committee Chair Curtis King (R – Yakima). Joe Konzlar got a favorable-sounding written response from King regarding the bill.

6 Replies to “First Vote on Sound Transit 3 Authority Today”

  1. Thanks, Brent. Will be there. Driving cabs on the night shift in Detroit, and the relatively-easy-by comparison Metro Route 7- never had the guts to do the 174, now called the 124- should leave me able to handle the only really rough and dangerous neighborhood in Olympia.

    Would be great, though, if Leonard Bernstein were still around to do a musical with legislators jumping up and down marble stairs swinging switchblades. And “Officer Inslee” even more helpless than poor Krupke to end the tragic violence.


  2. Why did the R’s amend the bill to exclude Sno and Peirce Co’s? What is there thinking….?

  3. Not too much details here. We need light rail to Bothell from Lynnwood.

    It should really be a loop from Overlake to Lynnwood but whatever Bothell is your Bothell neck. I-405 is a parking lot.

Comments are closed.